Want to Give a Unique Xmas Gift? Help Linda to Become a Doctor

Bit of a different post than usual from me.

The other day, I received an email via this blog from a stranger on the other side of the world:

Hello Nathan,

My name is Linda. I just read your blog, which I happened upon as I was seeking some encouragement. Like you, I have a desire to serve Christ as a physician. I have been admitted to medical school (to begin in May 2014). Right now I’m still trying to raise funds to begin school. Anyway, I’ve been quite down and depressed about not being able to pay for medical school (some days I wish I were from a wealthy family).

However, in this period of waiting on the Lord’s guidance and instruction, I’ve seen His hand in encouraging me all through. Most days I seek comfort from feeling sad for myself, but God never allows that to happen. For instance, whenever I want to sit in my room and brood over how ‘miserable’ I am, I get a phone call from a friend who encourages me. Then, other times I feel drawn to read His Word and get comfort from that.

Photo via Linda

I recall in the Bible when Jesus told Simon Peter that satan had asked for him (Peter) by name, in order to sift him like wheat. Then Jesus, in his cool and calm manner, reassured Peter by telling him that He had already interceded for him (Peter). I know that’s what Christ is doing and has done for me.

Then again, today, God took me to your blog and I read your posts and I am very encouraged. The Lord has remained faithful to me these 4years being in a far away land, and surely He will not forsake me (Heb. 13:5)

Thank you for sharing your testimonies….I say this with all honesty. It is true that God comforts us so that we in turn can comfort others with the comfort we have received from Him (2 Cor).

Amen and Amen,

Cheers!

Linda

Though I’d never met her before, I was amazed at Linda’s short email.

One thing that struck me was how she had such a great financial need for a good cause, and yet, that wasn’t her reason for writing me at all. She wrote simply to encourage me with the knowledge that my life had been able to encourage her.

She wasn’t requesting anything from me, but only wished to say thanks to another person on the other side of the world.

Photo derived from Flickr Creative Commons

Photo derived from Flickr Creative Commons

I replied:

Hi Linda. Thank you very much for writing!

It is amazing to connect with fellow believers across the world – and I have been encouraged by your email…

…If you don’t mind me asking – how much funds do you need to raise to begin medical school?

Peace!

Nathan

Her reply:

Nathan!

Yes, I think it is amazing to realise that across the world, God’s name is praised and lifted high daily. We all tend to forget that in Heaven people from all nations and races and tongues will live, serve, and praise Him. As always, thanks for the encouraging Bible verses.

I’ve posted a link to a fundraiser page that I recently started. To actually begin, I would have to raise about $25,000 (for the 1st semester). If you don’t mind (hopefully you don’t :)) could you share my link with others?
My family back home, is also trying to raise funds for me albeit the financial difficulties.

https://www.youcaring.com/tuition-fundraiser/help-me-go-to-medical-school/108032

Thank you for praying for me. Some days I never know how to talk with God. So, thank you so much!

Cheers,

Linda

Doctor treating Baby (photo credit: dmason via photopin cc)

Photo derived from Flickr Creative Commons

As I prayed about it, I felt God leading me to help Linda with her appeal to the generosity of others by sharing her story on this blog. Her fundraiser is certainly a worthy cause.

So today I write a simple appeal to whoever happens to read this – an appeal to help Linda on her desire to serve God and people as a doctor.

When I read her emails, I wondered: what does the Bible have to say about giving?

I found a few passages which stood out to me:

Whoever is kind to the poor lends to the Lord,
and he will reward them for what they have done.

2 Corinthians 9:6-7

Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.

Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”

In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.

doctor helping children ( photo credit: World Bank Photo Collection via photopin cc)

Photo derived from Flickr Creative Commons

These are just a few verses that spoke to me (extravagant generosity is everywhere in the Bible). God is a generous God, he loves generosity and he loves to reward generosity in ways we can’t predict!

So friends, if you want to lend a hand to Linda on her journey, please give whatever you decide in your heart to give. Every contribution counts, and every contribution is a wonderful Christmas gift to her!

May those of you who give experience anew the truth of what Jesus said: “It is more blessed to give than to receive”!

If you would like to donate, click the link below:

https://www.youcaring.com/tuition-fundraiser/help-me-go-to-medical-school/108032

doctor holding hand (photo credit: US Army Africa via photopin cc)

Photo derived from Flickr Creative Commons

Leave a Reply

